LIS is a first-in-class anti-inflammatory drug, an inhibitor of inducible NO synthase (the drug inhibits the production of nitric oxide, a very important inducer of inflammation, pain and tissue damage).

Main advantages (confirmed in preclinical studies):

−High efficacy – inhibits the overproduction of pro-inflammatory cytokines (including IL-1, IL-6, TNF-α),  alleviates pain and inflammation and restores the tissue structure at the inflammation site;

−High safety: doesn’t induce gastrointestinal tract damage and bleeding (unlike NSAIDs); doesn’t induce immunosuppression and, therefore, doesn’t increase the risk on infections and tumors (unlike biologics).

Indications:

Thanks to its new mechanism of action and unique efficacy and safety profile, LIS may be used as an alternative to NSAIDs and biologics for effective treatment of inflammatory bowel diseases (ulcerative colitis, Crohn’s disease), arthritis and other chronic inflammatory and autoimmune diseases.

Current status: Preclinical studies are ongoing.

Intellectual property: patents RU 2478618, US 8642784, EP 2548866, EA 021432, patenting in other regions is planned.

Investments and commercialization prospects:

– Russia – the project is open for Russian investors/pharmaceutical companies, interested in purchasing the rights to Russian and EAEU markets. Investment requirements are 170M RUB during (up to drug registration). Drug sales start in 2025. Potential sales at Russian and EAEU markets may exceed 1 billion RUB/year.

– Global market – the project is open for venture investors, interested in developing the project at key foreign markets (USA, EU,  etc). Investment requirements are $20M during 2021-2024 (up to the completion of Phase II clinical trials). Potential growth in project value is over $1 billion.

LIS – 1-й в классе противовоспалительный препарат – ингибитор индуцибельной NO-синтазы (ингибирует выработку оксида азота – важного фактора воспаления, боли и повреждения тканей).

Ключевые преимущества (по данным доклинических исследований):

  • Высокая эффективность – ингибирует избыточную выработку провоспалительных цитокинов (включая ИЛ-1, ИЛ-6, ФНО-α) снижает боль, воспаление и восстанавливает структуру тканей в месте поражения (на уровне лучших НПВС);
  • Высокая безопасность:
  • не вызывает поражения слизистой желудочно-кишечного тракта (в отличие от НПВС);
  • не вызывает иммуносупрессию и, следовательно, не повышает риск развития инфекционных и онкологических заболеваний (в отличие от ингибиторов цитокинов и других иммунодепрессантов).

Область применения:

Благодаря новому механизму действия и высокой эффективности LIS может рассматриваться в качестве альтернативы иммунодепрессантам и НПВС для лечения воспалительных заболеваний кишечника (язвенный колит, болезнь Крона), артритов, других воспалительных и аутоиммунных заболеваний.

Текущий статус. Идут доклинические исследования.

Патентный профиль: патенты RU 2478618, US 8642784, EP 2548866, евразийский 021432; планируется получение новых патентов.

Инвестиции и перспективы коммерциализации:

  • Россия – проект открыт для российских инвесторов/фармпроизводителей, заинтересованных в приобретении прав на рынки России и других стран ЕАЭС. Суммарная потребность в инвестициях – около 170 млн. руб. (до регистрации препарата). Начало продаж – 2025 год. Потенциал продаж на рынке Россия/ЕАЭС – более 1 млрд. руб./год.

Глобальный рынок – проект открыт для инвесторов, заинтересованных в развитии проекта на ключевых зарубежных рынках (США, ЕС и др.). Потребность в инвестициях – около $20 млн. на период 2021-2024 (до завершения клинических испытаний фазы II). Потенциал роста стоимости проекта – более $1,0 млрд.